My new crime discovery – Colin Dexter – The Dead of Jericho

1070911Pregnancy brain has meant that I can now only seem to read crime books, although I am still struggling on with Winter King, the biography of Henry VII.   I branched out and read my first Inspector Morse.  I hadn’t even seen it on TV before but now I am wondering why as I found it pretty enjoyable.  It was especially nice to have the familiar setting of Oxford in the novel.

Morse is your typical flawed policeman, middle-aged spread, slightly alcoholic, etc.  He goes to a party and meets young and beautiful Anne Scott who seems to be inexplicably throwing herself at him, but Morse manages to resist.  Six months later Anne Scott is found hanging in her kitchen in the district of Jericho.  Anne seems to have lots of skeletons in the cupboard including ex-husbands, an adopted child and a married lover.   At one point the plot threatens to become farcical when Morse tries to relate it the Sophocles tragedy of Oedipus, but generally a nice cosy crime read.  I have already headed off to the charity shop to buy another.  I might even put the DVD on my wish list.

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “My new crime discovery – Colin Dexter – The Dead of Jericho

  1. Michèle

    Go for it, Kerry – all Colin Dexter’s Morse books are GREAT!

  2. Michèle

    And the DVDs are wonderful, too.

    • Yes, am in the middle of another one at the moment, it’s easy but enjoyable. The DVD of all 12 series is £30, do you think it’s worth it? Should last a long time!

  3. Pingback: Oedipus Rex (ΣΟΦΟΚΛΗΣ #6) | Peter J Verdil

  4. Pingback: Colin Dexter – Death is now my neighbour | Rotten Books

Leave a Reply

