Birthday Kindle!

So after one of my previous posts about umming and aahing about a kindle I put it on my birthday list to leave it to chance if it came or not, and it did, courtesy of my generous boyfriend I now have a slinky strangely strokable kindle.  So I have now joined the techno readers and am still in two minds, but am going to give it a go.

I have spent the weekend fiddling about with it and have discovered the following things;

I like the dictionary element because I normally just ignore words I don´t know unless they are essential for the plot

Subscribing to the free kindle books isn´t that great as most of them look rubbish apart from the classics of course, most of which I have already read.

I can download my free version of  Nathaniel Hawthorne´s The Scarlet Letter which seems so far to be full of description and no action.

You can subscribe for my free trial of the Guardian and Observer, hurrah.  I haven´t been able to get hold of these for the last year in Spain so I like this.  In fact you get so much content that I spent most of yesterday reading it.

I can download my new book club book the Orange prize winner, The Song of Achilles, straight away instead of waiting for it to arrive in the post.

Most of the books I actually want to read are much cheaper to buy second-hand rather than on the kindle, so I can´t bring myself to waste money.

My boyfriend is paranoid I will wreck it, so keeps tabs on how I am looking after it, especially on the beach.

My overall thoughts are that  the kindle is good for some ways but I will never completely turn my back on the trusty book and charity shopping for them.  Any advice on great freebies or anything else, would be very welcome!

Me and kindle, but note real book sneaking in there

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “Birthday Kindle!

  1. Charlotte Gillam

    I like your fringe! Can’t comment on the Kindle I’ve only touched one once.

  2. I borrowed one first to see how much I hated it. Not sure about the fringe either.

  3. Laura

    Have to say I love mine – have downloaded some of the freebies & some have been pretty good – I tend to go by the reviews. Am reading Song of Achilles at the moment on the Kindle.

  4. Which freebies have you found to be good? I was unsure of how to tell which were good or just dodgy. How are you finding Song of Achilles?

  5. Laura

    Sent you a message on FB about which free books. To be fair, if they’re free, don’t care too much if their a bit dodgy – can always delete! Meant to say, also love the dictionary aspect of the Kindle & the fact that it’s more difficult to whizz to the end of the book to find out what happens (which I have a horrible tendency of doing).
    Song of Achilles? Hmmm. Reserving judgement as yet. An interesting take on Achilles Patroclus story, very easy to read – over 1/2 way through.

Leave a Reply

