Stephen Fry – The Fry Chronicles

As a teenager I was in love with Stephen Fry (actually been spending a lot of time thinking about him recently too) because I loved ‘A Bit of Fry and Laurie’.  His signed photograph was a treasured possession.   Later in life  I really enjoyed his novels The Liar and Making History but had found his first autobiography Moab is my Washpot a bit disappointing, therefore I was in two minds about this book.

After a very annoying apologetic first few pages the book really gets going and apart from a section towards the end I really enjoyed this book and found it really entertaining.  I especially enjoyed the fact that Fry is very honest about his own insecurities which are often not apparent when he is  on-screen, and therefore some people find him annoying. His descriptions of life at Cambridge were enough to make me feel a bit sick with envy and then become cross at the way that it seems as if you get there you are made for life with your numerous contacts from the Oxbridge scene (Emma Thomson, Rowan Atkinson, Richard Curtis,  etc.).  Still you can be amazed by the plethora of famous comics he meets along the way.

This is a really interesting  account of his rise to fame and well written, if you like Stephen Fry this is definitely worth reading.

Add your rating for this book on the stars below

Rate the book below

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Stephen Fry – The Fry Chronicles

  1. Catherine

    I too enjoyed the book, but found the level of detail a little annoying / too self-indulgent at times which meant I ended up skim reading some sections. However, he talks a lot about his chum Hugh Laurie which will always keep me interested, and – despite the endless name-dropping – it is amazing how many famous comedy faces were at Cambridge back then. Plus, as Kerry mentions… his insecurities are completely exposed and you can only admire him for being so honest. Of course, this being Stephen Fry, I would always recommend having a decent thesaurus not too far away from reach.

  2. Have changed my mind about this book since I have started having another Stephen Fry obsession. He is a genius. That is why I had to post another video above of him being fantastic as Michael Jackson, the best dancing ever.

    • Catherine

      Well yes, pure genius but you have to admit that it helps somewhat to have a super talented comic partner too…

Leave a Reply

